Vermont-NEA Scholars' Bowl

Bulldog H.S. Academic Tournament

NEW HAVEN, Conn. -- Three of Vermont's top programs brought a total of five teams to the 12th-annual Bulldog High School Academic Tournament at Yale University on Feb. 1 and brought home team and individual accolades to the Green Mountain State from the Northeast's most prestigious tournament.

Mt. Anthony's top team and the lone team from Champlain Valley were placed together in a difficult bracket, but equated themselves well. CVU won the head-to-head matchup between the two teams, and nearly knocked off national power Eleanor Roosevelt from Maryland, in finishing 3-2 and in third place in its group. Mt. Anthony, meanwhile, went 2-3 in the group and missed the playoffs on a tie-breaker.

Burlington A found itself in a somewhat easier draw and recovered from a second-match defeat to finish with a 5-1 record. That was good enough for a second-place finish in its group.

Mt. Anthony's B team earned a pair of victories in going 2-4 on the day. Burlington B stayed close in several of its games, but finished at 0-6.

In the playoffs, Champlain Valley drew the 16th seed and lost a hard-fought 180-140 contest to State College (Pa.) B in the round of 32. Burlington, seeded 11th, managed to hold off Kellenberg Memorial (N.Y.) B for a 165-135 win in the first round, but was routed by Kellenberg A, 335-65, in the octofinals.

Individually, CVU's Dan Mills was one of the day's stars. The senior ranked second in the tournament -- out of well over 200 players on 57 teams -- with an average of 66 toss-up points per game. Burlington senior Sheng Li was not far behind, averaging 51.67 points per game and placing sixth.

Results for Vermont Teams
(57 teams from 11 states competed overall)

Team Record Playoffs
Burlington A 6-2 Octofinals
Champlain Valley A 3-3 Round of 32
Mt. Anthony A 2-3 did not qualify
Mt. Anthony B 2-4 did not qualify
Burlington B 0-6 did not qualify

back to Vermont-NEA Scholars' Bowl 2002-2003 results
back to Vermont-NEA Scholars' Bowl home page

Copyright 2000, Vermont-NEA Scholars' Bowl